Afro Celts

It's been seven years since The Afro Sound System's inaugural assault o­nto the global music scene. The band's most unique feature was their fusion of West African cadences with conventional Irish melodies, hence their name.  Now, seven years since there emergence the Afro Celt Sound System have modified their name and their music.   The new album is called "Seed." The new CD has much more of an earthy feel to it, using real instruments instead of their previous emphasis o­n electronic music equipment. Anyone familiar with the Afro-Celts previous releases will still appreciate their unique sound, yet their resonance has developed into a more cohesive sound. The nucleus of  the band has remained intact, the band includes: Simon Emmerson (guitars), James McNally (keyboards,piano, bodhran, bamboo flute), Iarla O Lionaird (vocals), Martin Russell (keyboards, programming & co-production), N'Faly Kouyate (vocals, kora, balafon), Myrdhin (harp), Moussa Sissokho (percussion), Johnny Kalsi (dhol drum, tabla), Mass (drum programming) and Emer Maycock (uilleann pipes). The 10 tracks o­n "Seed" are well worth a listen, the Afro Celts have expanded into the global forum, this album features South American and popular rhythms, as well as everything else we have grown to expect from this superb group.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *