Looking for a funky jazz CD to add to your collection? If so, Soulive's current album "Next" would be an excellent choice. Neal & Alan Evans joined by fellow musicians Eric Krasno and Sam Kininger rock the boat with their innovative jazz style. The group is inspired by the likes of Earth, Wind And Fire, Annie DiFranco, The Roots and Grant Green. Their style has been shaped by the music they have listened to throughout the years. The album's sound varies from o­ne track to another. The intro cut "Tuesday Night's Squad" is off the hook. It's sound is upbeat jazz with a twist of funk to spice things up. "Joyful Girl" features Canadian pop rocker Dave Matthews. "Black Thought" from The Roots drops some dope rhymes o­n "Clap." This track is o­ne of the highlights of the album. Amel Larieux's enchanting vocals shine o­n "I Don't Know." "Alkime" is also a decent effort with some neat sitar sounds mixed with a melodic saxophone melody. This is an excellent album. Go get it. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *