Uncle Tupelo

Uncle Tupelo, the seminal alternative country rock band has re-released their 1993 critically praised final album "Anodyne."  This expanded and remastered gem sounds great and also includes five bonus tracks, including: "Stay True," "Wherever," "Are You Sure Hank Done It," "This Way," "Truck Drivin' Man" (recorded live), "Suzy Q" (recorded live). Uncle Tupelo was conceived by Jeff Tweedy (bass) and Jay Farrar (guitar), two high school buddies from pastoral, Belleville, Illinois. Tweedy and Farrar enlisted drummer Mike Heidorn to form the Primitives, which ultimately developed into Uncle Tupelo. The band's first album "No Depression" was released in 1990, a year later "Still Feel Gone" was released.  In the meantime Uncle Tupelo became favorites o­n the college circuit and toured extensively.  The critically acclaimed  "Anodyne" was to be the band's swansong album. The band got together for what would be their final North American tour, Farrar and Tweedy's decaying relationship reached a pinnacle and in 1994 Uncle Tupelo broke up.  Farrar went o­n to form Son Volt along with Jim Boquist (bass and vocals) and Uncle Tupelo drummer Mike Heidron.  Tweedy followed by creating  the more popular Wilco.  Sadly, neither Wilco nor Son Volt ever managed to re-create the magic that o­nce propelled Uncle Tupelo. "Anodyne" finds Uncle Tupelo at their peak, go out and re-discover why this band was held in such high regard.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *