Until Next Year Fantasia

fantasia wrap up 20152The 19th year has come and gone and now we have to wait one year for the best genre festival in the world (yeah, I said it) to start up again.  Three weeks really went quickly as I know we who attended the festival were all having a good time.  At most screenings if they were not sold out, which 60 were, they were close to capacity at both the Hall and de Sève theatres.  For the sixth year in a row there were over 100,000 tickets bought to see films at Fantasia – a massive turnout worthy of the 195 screenings that happened.  Everything about Fantasia is big from the line-ups to the movies to the special events to the amount of special guests to the number of world premieres (22 this year) associated with the festival.  Despite the fact that it is wonderful and huge each year they manage to top themselves in regards to amounts of films, Q&A with guests and general fun stuff.  Here’s looking to 2016!




The Fantasia International Film Festival is proud to announce the names of the winners of its awards at its 19th edition. The prizes were awarded by the juries of each category.


CHEVAL NOIR AWARD– feature films

The jury, presided over by Andrew Frank (VP of Sales and Acquisitions, Mongrel Media) composed of Roxanne Benjamin (filmmaker), François Létourneau (writer and actor), Ian Rattray (co-founder, Film4 Frightfest) et Ryan Turek (director of development, Blumhouse Productions), awarded the following prizes:


Cheval Noir Award for Best Film: TAG by Sion Sono


Award for Best Director: Malik Bader for CASH ONLY


Award for Best Screenplay: Tomoe Kanno for LA LA LA AT ROCK BOTTOM


Award for Best Actor (unanimous): Subaru Shibutani for LA LA LA AT ROCK BOTTOM


Award for Best Actress (unanimous): Reina Triendl for TAG


Special Mention for Sion Sono’s TAG, for its creative, surprising and monumental opening kill.


NEW FLESH AWARD – first features

The jury, presided over by Patrick Ewald (CEO, Epic Pictures) and composed of Dave Alexander (Editor-in-Chief, Rue Morgue Magazine), Jimmy Beaulieu (comic artist) et  Emico Kawai (Producer and International Sales, Nikkatsu Corporation), awarded the following prizes:


New Flesh Award for Best First Feature Film: CRUMBS by Miguel Llanso


A Special Mention awarded to THE BLUE HOUR by Anucha Boonyawatana, for the artist’s courage and vision.



The jury, presided over by John McNaughton (filmmaker) and composed of Matthew Hays (journalist) and Francesco Simeoni (Film preservationist, director of Arrow Video), awarded the following prizes:


Award for Best International Short Film : MAURICE by François Jaros


A Special Mention awarded to LA SÉANCE by Edouard de La Poëze, for its atmosphere as well as its décor and wardrobe.



The jury, presided over by Benoit Godbout (filmmaker and artistic director) and composed of Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre (filmmaker) and Johanne Ste-Marie (filmmaker), awarded the following prizes:


Satoshi Kon Award for Best Animated Feature Film: MISS HOKUSAI by Keiichi Hara


A Special Mention awarded to POSSESSED by Sam, for its playful homage to horror cinema

Satoshi Kon Award for Best Animated Short Film: MISSING ONE PLAYER by Lei Lei


A Special Mention awarded to GHOST CELL by Antoine Delacharlery, for its technical and visual excellence.


Satoshi Kon Award for Best Family Short Film : UNE HISTOIRE D’OURS by Gabriel Osorio


A Special Mention awarded to LA MOUFLE by Clémentine Robach, for the charm and beauty of the animation and story.



The Winner of Spectacular Optical’s 2015 Barry Convex Award for Best Canadian Feature or Co-Production is Larry Kent’s SHE WHO MUST BURN. Whether with words or imagery, Larry’s films have always been ferocious and critically engaged with the culture he creates them in. The award is accompanied by a $1000 prize, thanks to the Paul A. Ray memorial fund.



The jury, composed of Céline Gobert, André Lavoie et Jean-Marie Lanlo, awarded the Prix AQCC to BRIDGEND by Jeppe Ronde.



The jury, composed of Pascal Grenier, Maxime Labrecque and Mathieu Séguin-Tétreault, awarded the Prix Séquences to MISS HOKUSAI by Keiichi Hara, with a Special Mention for THE BLUE HOUR by Anucha Boonyawatana.



The Prix L’Écran fantastique, judged by Yves Rivard, was awarded to SYNCHRONICITY by Jacob Gentry.



Best Asian film : LOVE & PEACE de Sion Sono


Best European, North and South America Film : THERAPY FOR A VAMPIRE de David Ruhm


Best Canadian Film : TURBO KID Anouk Whissell, François Simard et Yoann-Karl Whissell


Best Animation Film : MISS HOKUSAI de Keiichi Hara


Best Documentary : I AM THOR de Ryan Wise


GURU price best Action Film : BIG MATCH de Choi Ho


ADDIKTV price best Thriller Film : MARSHLAND d’Alberto Rodriguez


Price of best Innovative Film: THEY LOOK LIKE PEOPLE de Perry Blackshear


Best Short Film : GOLDFISH de Michael Konyves


The Fantasia International Film Festival would like to thank its sponsors and media partners for their invaluable support. For this 19th edition, the festival was able to count of the support of 30 sponsor-partners, 10 media partners and over 125 advertisers.


The Fantasia International Film Festival will present its 20th edition from July 14 to August 2, 2016.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *