Fantasia Wraps Up for 2016

Phew!  Fantasia is over.  Don’t get me wrong, that is not a phew of relief more one of exertion.  Three weeks of almost continuous screenings day and night will take a lot out even the most devoted fan.  But it is a test of endurance that many are willing to go through year after year.  This being Fantasia’s 20th edition they have grown much since their early years and that is because they have gathered quite a large amount of really devoted genre film fans.  As usual this resulted in many long lines waiting for films and loads of sold out screenings.  Both are a sign of success.  If you need numbers then this was the 7th year in a row in which over 100,000 tickets were purchased for screenings


There were many highlights over the course of the festival.  Films like King Dave by Podz, IF Cats Disappeared from the World by Akira Nagai, Lights Out by David F. Sandberg, Do Not Breathe by Fede Alvarez, and I, Olga Hepnarova by Petr Kadza and Tomas Weinrab all garnered plenty of attention and praise from film fans and critics alike.  Fans were also able to see in the flesh and in certain cases enter into a dialogue with special guests like Guillermo del Toro, Kevin Smith, Kate Bosworth, Roy Dupuis, and Christopher Lloyd.


With the amount of quality films they bring to Montreal big screens each year Fantasia has become one of the top couple of films festivals in town.  Rest up for next year!



The Fantasia Film Festival is pleased to announce the winners of the awards for the 20th edition. These awards were presented by the juries of each competition.


BLACK HORSE PRIZE – Feature films

The jury, headed by Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (directors), and composed of Cyril Despontin (General Delegate, International Fantastic Film Festival of Paris), George Schmalz (head of the film section, Kickstarter), Justine Smith (critic) and Marcus Stiglegger (critic and researcher), awarded the following prizes:


Prize Black Horse for Best Film: TRAIN TO BUSAN  by Yeon Sang-ho


Award for Best Director: Kiyoshi Kurosawa for CREEPY


fantasia 2016 wrap upScreenplay: E J-Yong for THE LADY BACCHUS


Best Actor: Franko Dijak for GORAN


Best Actress: Youn Yuh-jung for THE LADY BACCHUS


Special Jury Prize: THE LURE by Agnieszka Smoczynska


NEW FLESH PRIZE – Early works

The jury, chaired by Michael Gingold (critic), and composed of Grady Hendrix (author and co-founder of the New York Asian Film Festival), Kate McEdwards (Vice President, Oscilloscope Laboratories) and Nicolas Stanzick (critic and musician), has awarded the following prizes:


New Flesh Award for best first film (unanimously): UNDERGROUND MAN by Michael Borowiec and Sam Marine.


Special Mention awarded to Lily Mae Harrington actress in SOME FREAKS, for outstanding performance in a leading role.



The jury, chaired by Chris Oosterom (Artistic Director, Imagine Festival of Amsterdam) and composed of Heather Buckley (critic, designer and producer of Blu-ray supplements) and Peter Kuplowsky (producer and programmer, Fantastic Fest and Toronto After Dark) , awarded the following prizes:


Best International Short Film: SKY BLUE ALMOST PERFECT by Quarxx


Special Mention awarded to STATIC by Tanya Lemke


Special Mention awarded to ESTATE by Ronny  Trocker



The jury, chaired by Julie Roy (Executive Producer, National Film Board) and composed of Benoît Melançon (preview specialist and assistant professor, UQAC / NAD), Alex Parkinson (visual effects supervisor, division of animated feature films, Cinesite) and Tamu Townsend (curator of the foundation Townsend Emru), awarded the following prizes:


Satoshi Kon Award for Best Animated Feature: PSYCHONAUTS, THE FORGOTTEN CHILDREN by Alberto Vazquez and Pedro Rivero


Satoshi Kon Award for Best Animated Short: STEMS by Ainslie Henderson


Special Mention awarded to CLOUDS by Diego Maclean



The jury of Kier-la Janisse (author and editor of Spectacular Optical), Paul Corupe (author and writer) and Mario DeGiglio-Bellamare (filmmaker, author and programmer), awarded the Barry Convex prize called  Spectacular Optical for DEAD LEAVES by Thierry Bouffard, Carnior and Edouard Tremblay. The award comes with a purse of $ 1,000, courtesy of Paul A. Ray Memorial Fund. The jury also awarded an honorable mention to DISCARDED by Lawrence Côté-Collins.



The jury, chaired by Martin Gignac and composed of Céline Gobert and Olivier Thibodeau, awarded the AQCC prize to The Wailing of Na Hong-jin.



The jury, chaired by Pascal Grenier and composed of Jean-Marie Potvin and Guillaume Lanlo, awarded the Sequence prize to WE ARE THE FLESH by Emiliano Rocha Minter.



The price Fantasy Screen awarded by Yves Rivard was given to BEFORE I WAKE Mike Flanagan.

Google Translate for Business:Translator ToolkitWebsite TranslatorGlobal Market Finder

About Google TranslateCommunityMobileAb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.