Muse – Simulation Theory

The eighth album by British rock trio Muse is called Simulation Theory. An interesting title, no? While Muse has been content bringing in people to their concerts rather than aiming for Top 40 sales, this album signals a change in attitude. It is their most accessible album to date. While listening to this you begin to realize that there has always been some pop ambition behind all the mirrored sunglasses and rock music verging on opera scale drama. Here they are moving towards a more modern sound which should get them more radio play. On different tracks like “Get Up and Fight” and “Something Human” you will hear influences like Ariana Grande and George Michael. Yeah, that is right! As the album moves on you will hear Fleetwood Mac and Imagine Dragons too. Pop culture references loaded along with plenty of topical subjects. The dystopian theme meshed with plenty of technology couldn’t be more of today. The whole move to modernity couldn’t be more apparent when technology or sequencers appear where guitar solos used to be. Long time fans might need some time adjusting but news one will be jumping on board in large numbers.

Track Listings

1. Algorithm
2. The Dark Side
3. Pressure
4. Propaganda
5. Break it to Me
6. Something Human
7. Thought Contagion
8. Get Up and Fight
9. Blockades
10. Dig Down
11. The Void
12. Algorithm (Alternate Reality Version)
13. The Dark Side (Alternate Reality Version)
14. Propaganda (Acoustic Version)
15. Something Human (Acoustic Version)
16. Dig Down (Acoustic Gospel Version)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *