Award-winning singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Hawksley Workman unveiled a feverish new track from his upcoming album Median Age Wasteland. “Stoners Never Dream” is available to stream / purchase on Friday, February 15  HERE. Produced by The Dears frontman, Murray Lightburn, Median Age Wasteland will be released worldwide on March 1, 2019 and is available to pre-order today HERE. Watch the teaser trailer HERE.

Says Workman of the track, “’Stoners Never Dream’ is a song about childhood insecurities turning into adult ones. The title is a play on compelling anecdotal evidence that suggests regular use of cannabis can prevent dreaming or impair our ability to remember dreams. The lyric ‘…like everybody else in here, you were trained to hate your body…’ reflects society’s tendency to quell our anxieties with self-prescribed drugs and alcohol.”

Workman will chat about his new album and perform on CBC’s q on Friday, March 1. More tour dates have been announced and include a special appearance with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra on April 13. See below for all upcoming tour dates.

A video for Hawksley’s second single “Lazy” directed by [rararacquiao] can be viewed HERE. The first single from the upcoming album, “Battlefords” rocketed to #8 on CBC Music Top 20 and is available HERE.

Hawksley wrote and recorded his latest LP following a recent move from the Huntsville countryside to Montreal. This time around, collaborating closely with producer and Dears creative genius Murray Lightburn in studios throughout his new home of Montreal, there’s no lipstick, literal or figurative – just the purity of loving, loathing, and living. With Median Age Wasteland he’s leading listeners through the figurative looking glass for as clear an image of his true self as we’ve ever been allowed.

“I’ve always had this constant hunger to innovate, reevaluate what I do, and keep remaking it to confuse myself and maybe confuse my audience,” Workman admits. “This time, I’m just committing to writing focused and honest songs, which feels like the most interesting thing I can do right now.”


Median Age Wasteland Tracklist

  1.     Birds in Train Stations
  2.     Lazy
  3.     Battlefords
  4.     Italy
  5.     1983
  6.     To Receive
  7.     Skinny Wolf
  8.     Song of Summer
  9.     Oksana
  10.  Stoners Never Dream
  11.  Snowmobile


About Hawksley Workman


A staple of the Canadian arts scene for over 20 years, Workman boasts a catalogue of 15 solo releases showcasing his now signature blend of anthemic folk and cabaret pop with show-stopping vocals and sonic textures ranging from subtle electronica to blazing rock. The accolades amassed include JUNO nods and wins and widespread critical acclaim.  As a producer, his fingerprints grace releases by JUNO and Polaris Prize nominees and winners like Tegan and Sara, Sarah Slean, Serena Ryder, Hey Rosetta!, and Great Big Sea. He’s also penned melodies with a myriad of artists, from Oscar award winning Marion Cotillard (La Vie en Rose, Inception) to French rock icon Johnny Hallyday. Hawksley’s touring career has seen him play nearly a thousand shows worldwide. He’s headlined prestigious venues like Massey Hall in Toronto and The Olympia in Paris.



Website | Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *