The Thompsons – I’ll Get Over It

Stream the album on Spotify Here


–      Sounds of The Delfonics, The Stylistics, Curtis Mayfield, The O’Jays and Marvin Gaye.

–      Heavy use of the instrument, the Mellotron; rarely heard in Soul and R&B records.

–      Brewerytown Beats second reissue after philly jazz collective ‘Sounds of Liberation.’

–   Put together in collaboration with the group and original producers: with gatefold packaging, limited-edition coloured vinyl, new liner notes and never-before-seen group photos.

–       Separate 45 including a remix of the album’s opening track, ‘Message,’ from Philly DJ, FROZ1.

Brewerytown Beats proudly presents a soul LP born in their backyard; the highly sought after 1975 release ‘I’ll Get Over It’ by North Philly’s own, The Thompsons. Philly has a ridiculously long and storied history of putting out world-changing soul music and much of it is well known. But for every Philly International Records smash there was a neighborhood crew who sweated it out for years in local bars and VFW halls: many never even making it to seeing their names on a shiny vinyl platter. The Thompsons were somewhere closer to the latter category despite putting out one unique and deep R&B platter in 1975. They did indeed put it to the wax plateau but in the past 45 years it had sadly faded from the city’s soul history.

The Thompsons had quite a family – 10 children: seven brothers and three sisters. Growing up on North 25th Street in North Philly many of them sang. Like many other soul legends they came up singing in the church. By their early teens, three of the brothers – Cornelius (aka Lefty), Sylvester (aka Lightbulb) and Bill – joined up in a quartet with friend and “honorary Thompson” Sandy Andersen. They went to Vaux Junior High and started making waves at talent shows.

From their early high school years the four-piece vocal group were managed by school friend Eric Ward and by 1974 Ward met an up-and-coming musician and producer, Tyrone Broxton: a classmate of Ward’s at West Philly High. After months of rehearsals and intermittent gigs they decided to drive forward and put out a full-length album. None of the young musicians had experience in the record business but they had talent and energy to spare. Broxton and Ward found a studio in New Jersey – Century Productions in Sayreville – and songwriting work began in earnest.

Originally self-released on Ward and Broxton’s BCW Records label (with a run of the 300 copy production minimum) it remains one of the rarest Philly soul gems of the ‘70s; long sought-after by R&B spelunkers. Thankfully, Brewerytown Beats storeowner, Max Ochester, met the group and its producers in 2019 (the West Girard record store is blocks from The Thompsons’s childhood home) and immediately set about getting the album reissued. Although the group haven’t performed together as a quartet since the early 1980s there have been some rumblings that (and with the help of BrewerytownBeats who recently spurred a renaissance local jazz legends Sounds of Liberation) we may be hearing more of their sweet sounds on wax and on stages in 2020. Until then, however, lose yourself in their one and only release from 45 years ago – it’s easy to do and well worth the time.

Track List
Side A
A1 Message
A2 Seems Like I’ve Known you
A3 I’ll Always Love You
A4 Invincible
Side B
B1 I’ll Get Over It
B2 Love In Her Eyes
B3 We Love To Sing
B4 Gotta Get Down to Ever Get Up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *