I Musici de Montréal celebrates the 100 years of Piazzolla!

A hundred years of Piazzolla

With Nicolas Ellis, Jonathan Goldman

and the musicians of I Musici de Montréal!

Friday, March 19 at 4 PM, until Friday March 26

Feliz cumpleaños, Astor!

In webcast on Livetoune

March 11th 1921, is born one of the greatest Argentinian composers: Astor Piazzolla. A century later, I Musici pays homage to the man who lent to tango its prestige. The brilliant young conductor Nicolas Ellis (Radio-Canada Classique Revelation in 2018-2019) shares the stage with the talented Jonathan Goldman. This musician is not only a highly skilled bandoneonist, but is also a musicologist specialising in the spirited and passionate work of Piazzolla. They will join the 15-piece I Musici orchestra, in a live webcast from St. Jax Church, on Friday March 19 at 4:00 PM. The concert will stay available online until Friday March 26.

Nicolas Ellis is the artistic director and the founder of The Orchestre de l’Agora, an ensemble whose mission is to program concerts for the profit of community organisms. He acts also as an artistic collaborator with the Orchestre Métropolitain. In the summer of 2019, he participated in the Verbier Festival’s Academy, in Switzerland, where he assisted the internationally renowned conductor Valery Gergiev.

Jonathan Goldman is full Professor of Musicology at Université de Montréal Music Faculty. He is also a bandoneon performer and member of the group Quartango, winner of a Juno award and an Opus award in 2015. He has also performed as a soloist with I Musici de Montréal, the Chœur de la Montagne, the Quatuor Saguenay, the Signature Orchestra of Tulsa (USA) and the Orchestre symphonique de l’Isle.


Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

Fuga y misterio, arrangement Jose Bragato

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

Five Tango Sensations

  1. Asleep
  2. Loving
  3. Anxiety
  4. Despertar
  5. Fear

Osvaldo Golijov (born in 1960)

Last Round

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

Primavera Porteno

Julie Triquet, violon

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

Adios Nonino, arrangement J.Goldman

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

La Muerte del ángel, arrangement J. Goldman

Box office

March 19 at 4 PM : live webcast

Available online until Friday, March 26

Tickets on sale on Livetoune

For more informations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *