In this short set Alicia Keys really proves that she is more than talented musically; she is a very articulate, bright and engaging woman. With these VH1 Storyteller specials it really affords the performer, if they so choose, to give their fans, the audience present and anyone interested enough to watch a little window into what the creative process is for them, the meaning behind their songs and what type of person they themselves are. Alicia Keys does not disappoint, grabs the opportunity with both hands and runs with it.

This episode of VH1 Storytellers is particularly entertaining in that it gives time to Ms. Keys to open up and chat and that is something she is very good at. Though we all know the formula there is nothing rehearsed or formulaic feeling about this. We learn that she uses song writing as part of her healing process for when things, including romantic relationships, go wrong. In her lengthy in between song chats she talks about her process of writing and proves herself to be very likeable and charismatic.

One thing I did notice is that she might have been sick or having voice issues when the special was being recorded as her voice was especially raspy. She still does a good job on the few songs she plays. Another was that the lighting was a bit harsh for me. The purple did not do the visual aspect any favours.

Track Listing:

1. No One

2. Brand New Me

3. You Don’t Know My Name

4. Not Even The King

5. Fallin’

6. If I Ain’t Got You

7. Girl On Fire

8. New Day

9. Un-thinkable (I’m Ready)

10. Empire State Of Mind (Pt. II) Broken Down

11. Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart

12. Menu

Special Features: Bonus Performances of “New Day”, “Try Sleeping With a Broken Heart” and “Un-Thinkable (I’m Ready)”