An Evening of Nostalgia With Annie Lennox – Blu-ray Edition

an evening of nostalgia with annie lennoxAnnie Lennox was a huge star as part of the British duo Eurythmics during the eighties. She then went on to have a strong solo career. At the age of sixty she still possesses that huge voice and star aura around her. With her last record she delved into the Great American Songbook and added her personal touch to some of those classics.

Some lucky people got to see Annie Lennox live after the release of Nostalgia. She has said that at this point her career touring is more about quality than quantity. She was bang on with the quality level in this show. It was filmed at Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles in January of 2015.

In a live setting this collection of soul, jazz and blues classics along with some Eurythmics and solo tracks of her own it makes for a magical evening of music. As any great artist would she breathes new life into the selected songs. To back up that massive and always on point voice of hers the arrangements are spare but sometimes haunting. Annie Lennox is back by a nineteen piece orchestra that includes horns and strings. Highlights are “Georgia On My Mind”, “God Bless the Child” and “You Belong to Me”.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Memphis In June
3. Georgia On My Mind
4. I Put A Spell On You
5. Summertime
6. I Cover The Waterfront
7. Strange Fruit
8. God Bless The Child
9. You Belong To Me
10. September In The Rain
11. I Can Dream, Can’t I?
12. The Nearness Of You
13. Mood Indigo
14. Here Comes The Rain Again
15. No More I Love You’s
16. Why
17. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *