Styx: Live at The Orleans Arena Las Vegas – Blu-ray Edition

styx live at the orleans arena“Suite Madame Blue”, “Come Sail Away”, “Too Much Time On My Hands” and “Lady” are all tracks in rock group Styx’s catalogue that have made them a fan favourite for decades. Styx is made up of Tommy Shaw (vocals/guitar), James JY” Young (vocals/guitar/keyboards), Ricky Phillips (bass), Todd Sucherman (drums), Lawrence Gowan (vocals/keyboards) and Chuck Panozzo (bass guitar). The band got together in Chicago in 1972 and brought a blend of prog rock with plenty of harmony to the music world. It has been over forty years and they are not slowing down.


With the departure from the band of co-lead singer Dennis DeYoung it is not really a surprise that big hits like “Babe” and “Mr. Roboto” are not performed.  Stand-in and Canadian Lawrence Gowan does a good job filling those big shoes. The band does not cut corners when it comes to the visual element of a live show. The band is backed up by huge video screens allowing fans to see their heroes up close.


A nice bonus is when Eagles member Don Felder takes the stage with Styx to perform “Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)”. Plus, besides the concert, you get an interview with all the band members.


Track Listing:

1) The Grand Illusion

2) Too Much Time On My Hands

3) Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)

4) Lady

5) Suite Madame Blue

6) Light Up

7) Crystal Ball

8) Superstars

9) Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)

10) Come Sail Away

11) Rockin’ The Paradise

12) Renegade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *