Until Next Year From Rendez-vous du Cinema Quebecois

rvcq 2016 wrap upAs its mission the Rendez-vous du Cinema Quebecois attempts to contribute to the development and recognition of the local film industry.  By screening the best Quebec produced films for the last 34 years it sheds light on the high level of talent right here in the province we live in.  An important cultural function is performed by RVCQ and it is plenty of fun to boot.  The 34th edition of the RVCQ wrapped up this past weekend and the prize winners were announced.


Prize Winners:



Best Film – Fatima directed by Philippe Faucon

Best Animated Film – Le Petit Prince directed by Mark Osborne

Best Actor/Actress – Zita Hanrot (Fatima)


Luc Perreault Prize / AQCC presented by film critics of Quebec (Best Film of the Year 2015) and The Gilles Carle Award from the RVCQ (the best film 2015) – Les démons directed by Philippe Lesage


Pierre et Yolande Perrault Prize (for best documentary film) – La démolition familiale directed by Patrick Damien


Jury Innovation Award – On the Horizon directed by Pascal Payant


CALQ Prize – Le rêve d’Okpik directed by Laura Rietveld


The five winners of the short film Price RVCQ 2016 received the very first trophies awarded during the festival.

The jury of the first three awards was made up of: Louis Bélanger, director – Evelyne Brochu, actress – Marilyn Castonguay, actress – Evelyne de la Chenelière, author and actress – Yves Jacques, actor – Alexandre Landry, comedian – Philippe Lesage, director – François Lévesque, author and film critic – Kim McCraw, producer – Karelle Tremblay, actress.


Best short film: Star directed by Emilia Mannering | Presented by VIDEO COOP and the Arts Council of Montreal | Scholarship $ 3,000 in cash and project development


Best Documentary Short: Elle pis son char directed by Loïc Docks | Presented by SPIRA | Scholarship comprised of $ 1,000 in cash and $ 20,000 in technical services


Best Animated Short: Sonambulo directed by Theodore Ushev | Presented by Tou.tv | Cash prize of $ 2,500


Best Short Film Art and experimentation: Vole vole tristesse directed by Myriam Charles | Presented by PRIM and the Caisse de la Culture | Scholarship $ 1,500 in cash (Caisse de la Culture) and $ 10,000 in services (PRIM) – The jury consisted of: Dominic Gagnon, director – Yan Giroux, director – Monique Moumblow, teacher at Concordia University – Nelly-Ève Rajotte, artist – Emmanuel Sevigny, artist


Best Student Film: Rituals directed by David Gamache | Presented by La Fabrique culturelle| Scholarship $ 1,000 in cash and Ipad awarded by the Journal Métro; Special mention was also given to Quid directed by Marie-Noëlle Moreau Robidas – The jury consisted of: Marie-Ève ​​Juste, director – Véronique Labonté , Coordinator of La Fabrique culturelle – Marion Pacouil, film student


On Tuesday, February 23, another award ceremony was held in the Bistro SAQ. In addition to highlighting the 25 years of Cinémental, major festival of Francophone culture in Winnipeg, the prize for best French-Canadian work, presented by US TV, was awarded to Cafétéria directed by Francine Hébert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *