Rendez-vous du Cinema Quebecois 2018 Hands Out Its Awards

On Sunday, March 4 (same day as the Oscars!) the 36th annual Rendez-vous du Cinema Quebecois ended. After the final credits rolled on the closing film, Chien de garde by Sophie Dupuis, it became clear that the festival is one that keeps growing year after year. There were 12% more films screened this year and filmgoers showed their appreciation by the fact that many screenings were sold out. The attendance this year was a very healthy 55,000. Even attendance at the festival’s special events was up showing that the public enjoyed the films and the entire entourage of RVCQ. For instance, the attendance at les Nuits des Rendez-vous more than doubled.

Prizes Awarded:

Gilles-Carle Prize – $5,000 in cash (Best First or Second Feature Length Film)

All You Can Eat Bouddha – Le meilleur des séjours by Ian Lagarde


Pierre and Yolande Perrault Prize – $5,000 in cash (Best First or Second Feature Length Documentary)

Sur la lune de nickel  by François Jacob

Special Mention:

Ce silence qui tue by Kim O’Bomsawin


Best Short Film – $2,500 in cash (Presented by Radio Canada)

Pre-drink by Marc-Antoine Lemire

Special Mention:

La voyante by Alexandre Auger and Alexis Fortier Gauthier


Best Short Documentary – $1,000 in cash and $20,000 in technical services (Presented by Spira)

Voces del Secuestro by Ryan McKenna


Best Animated Short – $1,500 in cash (Presented by la caisse de la culture)

Toutes les poupées ne pleurent pas by Frédérick Tremblay

Special Mention: TESLA : lumière mondiale by Matthew Rankin


Best Work of Art and Experimentation – $20,000 in technical services (Presented by PRIM)

Dialogue du tigre by Matthew Wolkow


Best Student Film – $1,000 in cash (Presented by Patrick Huard)

Les abeilles domestiques by Alexanne Desrosiers

Special Mention:

El Manuel by Didier Pigeon-Perreault


Best Franco-Canadian Film – $1,500 in cash (Presented by Unis TV)

Modifié by Aube Giroux

Special Mention:

1999 by Samara Grace Chadwick


Young Critic Prize (Presented by LOJIQ)

Olivier Savard for his review of  d’Isla Blanca by Jeanne Leblanc


Coup de Coeur COOP Prize – $1,000 in cash and an invite to develop a project at COOP video (Presented by COOP Video)

Crème de menthe by Philippe David Gagné et Jean-Marc E.Roy


Luc-Perreault/AQCC Prize – $2,000 in cash (Awarded to the best Quebec film of 2017. Presented by AQCC)

Les affamés by Robin Aubert

The five finalist in alphabetic order were:

  • Les affamés by Robin Aubert
  • Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n’ont fait que se creuser un tombeau by Simon Lavoie et Mathieu Denis
  • La petite fille qui aimait trop les allumettes by Simon Lavoie
  • Le problème d’infiltration by Robert Morin
  • Tadoussac by Martin Laroche




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.