Vancouver alt-rock 5-piece Catlow will release their fourth studio album, Main of Nowhere, on June 8, 2018 through File Under: Music in North America. In anticipation of their new release, Catlow has just unveiled the official music video for their latest single “Scrapes” via PureGrainAudio. Directed by Kaayla Whachell of NakasoneFolk and shot at Golden Ears Lake in BC, the quirky, artsy video that “mixes ethereal images to embody a young couples relationship” can be viewed HERE.
Of their latest track, lead vocalist Natasha Thirsk had this to say, “Scrapes on your heart. Sometimes you do stupid things in love, or the thought of being in love. Sometimes you let people hurt you knowingly. Some people put you on the back burner and when they decide to come around, you still let them back into your heart. Lovely words and ugly words exchanged in passion. You always end up the other side with Scrapes on your heart. Whether by your choice to leave or someone else’s. They will all have an effect on how you love in the future. Better or not. That’s human.”
Catlow creates a world where hauntingly luscious vocals layer over spacey guitar hooks and bursting synth beats, anchored by heartbeat-powered bass lines. Each song is a culmination of spellbinding tales, that mesmerizes the listener into a stormy depth of emotion hidden amongst insightful verses and rich beats. Their latest offering Main of Nowhere “is about being in the seemingly main part of your life but at times, moving forward and growing seems like you’re getting nowhere,” shares Thirsk. “It was years of personal trauma and health issues, mental illness and trying to get better and taking hold of what heals me the most…MUSIC.”
Recorded in Vancouver and in L.A, on Main of Nowhere, Catlow stays true to their Indie Alt-Rock roots with tracks like lead single “Scrapes” and “A Moment Passes By”, yet with songs like “My Sun” they also start to move out of their comfort zone exploring a new era of Catlow in the form of twangy Alt-Country music, reminiscent of Robert Plant and Alison Krauss.
Main of Nowhere is now available to pre-order HERE.