Schmieds Puls – Manic Acid Love

Fronted by Mira Lu Kovacs, Christian Grobauer (drums) and Walter Singer (bass) – Schmieds Puls are an Austrian outfit who have been making waves in their home territory for some time. Spanning genres, refusing to be pigeonholed and being politically outspoken, particularly regarding Mira’s feminism has cemented them as one of the countries most interesting outputs, earning them prestigious accolades such as the Amadeus Austrian Music Award.


New album Manic Acid Love is a triptych leading us through the spectrum of human emotion, the eleven tracks taking us through unconditional devotion (Manic), the deep vulnerability and pain this dedication precipitates (Acid) and the human power to overcome these hurdles and find peace (Love).


Delicate guitars are paired with staccato vocals that cut right through to the listener, giving you no choice but to stop what you’re doing and take note. Jazz knowledge and influences run through the veins of Schmieds Puls, while the tracks remain instantly catchy and full of pop sensibilities.


Unafraid to be confrontational, Mira tells us “part of me wants people to be afraid of me”. It’s a dialogue with the audience that draws you in, while having the capacity to show aggression when the subject calls for it, such as on the track ‘Superior (F*ck You)’.


Along with anger, subtler emotions are articulated, such as on ‘Don’t Love Me Like That’. Mira explains “with “Don’t Love Me Like That”, I wanted to try to explain the complexity with that I experience love and relationships. For me nothing; no feeling, no situation, no connection between me and any other person is linear. It is always at least two things. It gets especially difficult when these things are the exact opposite of each other. I can feel drawn to a person as much as I need to be away from them. That can be confusing and exhausting, but that’s how I experience it. Oftentimes it enriches my world. Nevertheless it is a love song, a brutally honest and therefore kind one, I want to say.”


Manic Acid Love will be available everywhere on September 7th 2018 (Play Dead Records / Rough Trade Distribution).




  1. The Plan
  2. Run
  3. Exhausted
  4. Don’t Love Me Like That
  5. Oh (You Lose Me)
  6. Superior (F*ck You)
  7. The Walk
  8. Somebody Is Trying To Kill Me
  9. Acid
  10. Screens
  11. The Urge Of Night (Where I Go Next)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *