+ Stream new piano project, “Spirit”

+ Watch the music video for lead single “Needed”+ “Spirit” vinyl pre-order available today

“These are songs about love in my life, but also about the love for piano brought back into my life.”

Today, Rhye releases the new eight-track piano project “Spirit” and shares the music video for lead single “Needed.” The video was directed and edited by Mike Milosh, conceptualized and produced by Milosh and his partner Geneviève Medow Jenkins, and choreographed by Lisa Eaton.

Milosh notes that, “The video for ‘Needed’ is a visual expression of the lyrics, a collection of interpretations and emotions created by the song itself. I took a fly-on-the-wall approach with each of the dancers and actors as they each had their own experience with the music. I just asked them to let go. It was an honor to witness these artists be so vulnerable and trusting, to capture these intimate moments that moved within each of them.”

 Born out of falling in love with playing the piano again, “Spirit” captures the subtle magic of gentle moments. “About a year and a half ago, my girlfriend surprised me with a borrowed piano,” Milosh says. “It wasn’t in the best shape, but it made itself at home in my apartment and I started playing it every morning… just messing around at first, but it slowly became a morning ritual I couldn’t shake.” Out of the many sketches, “Spirit” started to take shape. “It’s a collection of songs I did alone in the studio with just a piano, intertwined with collaborations with some of my favorite piano-based musicians.” 

One such musician is Dan Wilson (formerly of Semisonic with co-writing credit on Adele’s “Someone Like You”), who co-wrote the lead single “Needed.” On “Needed,” Milosh and Wilson’s songwriting chemistry is evident. There’s an undeniable loveliness in the song’s sparse and cavernous arrangement, where strings, guitar, and synths add rich textures to the melody, while simultaneously allowing a single grand piano and Milosh’s voice to stand at the center.

Elsewhere on “Spirit,” Ólafur Arnalds adds plush piano chords and lilting melodies to the relaxed, beat-driven “Patience,” while Thomas Bartlett (aka Dovemanlayers wistful, dancing piano refrains to the project’s yearning finale, “Save Me,” which he co- wrote and arranged with Milosh.

An additional standout track is “Wicked Dreams,” which grooves through a dense and ever-evolving arrangement of cascading piano, rich bass, fuzzed-out electric guitar, and a multitude of synth flourishes with curiosity and levity.

“Spirit” is out now with vinyl pre-order available now and ships June 28th. Pre-order the vinyl HERE.

Rhye – “Spirit” Tracklist:

Available on all DSPs

1. Dark

2. Needed

3. Malibu Nights

4. Patience (feat. Ólafur Arnalds)

5. Green Eyes

6. Wicked Dreams

7. Awake

8. Save Me

Rhye Socials: FacebookTwitter / Soundcloud / Spotify / InstagramWebsite