Following the huge acclaim of 2018’s Walk Between Worlds
album (“The band’s best album in decades.” Album Of The Week, Sunday Times),
continuing their recent spectacular renaissance, while also building on their
reputation as one of the world’s great live acts, last autumn Simple Minds
travelled to North America to undertake their first coast to coast tour in over
two decades. Taking in 31 cities, both critics and fans unanimously agreed that
it was the bands most successful US tour to date.


Referencing their first live album, 1987’s Live In The City
Of Lights
, this new live collection once again finds Simple Minds 30 years
later scaling the heights of those dizzy days, selling more tickets year by
year, as each new generation discovers the phenomenal live power of the

Simple Minds were greeted by an excitement stateside they’d not
experienced since their imperial phase in the mid-1980s. Nowhere was this
passion captured better than on a recording of their performance at the Orpheum
Theatre, Los Angeles on October 24, 2018. 24 of the tracks were performed that
night. Glittering Prize was recorded at The Fillmore, Miami Beach on November
8, 2018, and the bonus tracks were recorded at various sound checks and

The resulting album, LIVE IN THE CITY OF ANGELS, is a
40-song collection, spanning one of the most diverse catalogues of, to date, a
40 year career. Simple Minds’ live prowess, incredible musicianship, led by the
band’s exceptional and iconic guitarist Charlie Burchill, and the soulfulness
of frontman Jim Kerr’s voice – which has matured into a powerful instrument in
its own right – delivers a set that proves why Simple Minds are still a vital
and relevant band. 

Their career spanning set features songs from the band’s Empires
and Dance
album through last year’s Walk Between Worlds. Beginning
with that album’s “The Signal and The Noise,” the first five songs
alone – followed by “Waterfront,” “Love Song,” “Let
There Be Love,” and “Up On The Catwalk” – are a reminder as to
why Simple Minds are one of the greatest bands of their generation. 

Elsewhere the album includes gems from their classic New Gold
Dream (81-82-83-84)
album, “Sons and Fascination,” “Sparkle
In The Rain,” 1985’s colossus “Don’t You Forget About Me,” as
well as “Alive and Kicking” and “Sanctify Yourself” from
that year’s UK no.1 and US Top 10 album Once Upon a Time, right up to
2015’s Big Music (which MOJO magazine declared “their best album
in 30 years”) and last year’s Walk Between Worlds (a UK Top 5

LIVE IN THE CITY OF ANGELS is a must-have collection for any self-respecting Simple Minds fan and a perfect reminder of the band’s enduring talent and live appeal.  LIVE IN THE CITY OF ANGELS is available on deluxe CD (4 CDs in a hardback book), standard 2 x CD and vinyl, digital download and stream. The deluxe CD and digital formats feature 40 songs; the standard CD and vinyl feature 25 songs

1. The Signal And The Noise 
2. Waterfront 
3. Love Song
4. Let There Be Love
5. Up On The Catwalk 
6. Sense Of Discovery 
7. Glittering Prize 
8. Promised You A Miracle 
9. The American 
10. Hunter And The Hunted 
11. Stand By Love 
12. Dirty Old Town (Written by Ewan MacColl)
13. Themes For Great Cities 
14. She’s A River 
15. Walk Between Worlds 
16. Hypnotised 
17. Someone Somewhere In Summertime 
18. See The Lights 
19. All The Things She Said 
20. Dolphins 
21. Don’t You (Forget About Me) 
22. New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) 
23. Once Upon A Time 
24. Alive And Kicking 
25. Sanctify Yourself     
1. Book Of Brilliant Things 
2. Let The Day Begin (Cover of The Call’s 1989 song, which Simple Minds first covered on Big Music)
3. Honest Town 
4. Midnight Walking 
5. Barrowland Star 
6. Big Music 
7. Blindfolded 
8. Celebrate 
9. In Dreams 
10. I Travel 
11. Speed Your Love To Me 
12. Stars Will Lead The Way 
13. Summer 
14. The Cross (Written by Prince)
15. Big Sleep       

As they turn 40, Simple Minds legacy is something to be proud of as their story continues to evolve.