Figg put their oft-delayed debut album up on the fledgling Bandcamp in 2015. It wasn’t up for long, but the album’s lead track found its way to a KEXP “Song of The Day” nod in 2017.
They said at the time, “Tunador’s voice has a striking clarity in the track mix of lead-off cut ‘A Case Study in Plagiarism,’ paired with a slightly fuzzed out guitar part, which builds to a beautiful, layered refrain. Think of Nancy Sinatra’s spaced-out work with Lee Hazlewood, if she was raised on Slowdive.” Hear “A Case Study in Plagiarism” now at the link below!

 Track Listing:
01. A Case Study in Plagiarism (STREAM)
02. Pink is the New Blues
03. Black Tar of Camden Yards (STREAM)
04. Jack is the Pulpit
05. Bungleweed Motherwort
06. You and Me, Oh Please
07. Baby in a Cage
08. Don’t Want to Have to Hate
09. Destroyer
10. Song for Dwyre

Figg | About
Figg, the Seattle and Los Angeles-based duo of Robin Peringer and Gilden Tunador, was originally scheduled to release its debut album a decade ago.
Peringer’s musical past is like a giant quilt of the Northwest music scene, having played guitar in Modest Mouse764-HEROLove as Laughter and many more luminaries of the region. When he teamed up with Tunador, the duo found local admiration and ultimately national attention as part of the (intentionally misspelled) band Carissa’s Wierd.
Figg’s sound was perfect for the moment, but, shoved, then shelved, the album’s champions went away. Jump to a decade later, and now, a new moment has emerged for Peringer and Tunador as Figg’s self-titled debut, sounding fresh as ever, will finally see an appropriate record release on June 12th, 2020.

“Releasing our record has been an ego-smashing lesson in the appreciation of patience, the unfolding of the creative process, and the magic of universal timing,” Tunador says. After the band’s deal fell apart, they shopped the album around, but were still a bit too shell-shocked from the whole experience.
Five years later, in 2015, just as Bandcamp was becoming the leader in artist-focused and controlled streaming, Figg decided to finally make the record available. They posted it without promotion or any fanfare at all. They just wanted their friends to be able to hear it.
Friends tuned in, and the band felt satisfied that at least the album was available to the public.

Figg was revived, at least in this small, but important way, and this development moved Peringer and Tunador to start stockpiling new songs, and to give their generally unheard debut album its due.
“It’s as if the music has a life of its own and is determined to keep on breathing,” Tunador explains. “We are at the point in our lives where we understand the importance of doing what we love and we’re excited that the timing is aligned for this album to join the world with full promotion and availability across all platforms.”