Terra Lightfoot reveals new album & debuts lead single ~ “Paper Thin Walls” ~ album out Oct 16

Canadian singer-songwriter Terra Lightfoot is set to release her new album Consider the Speed on October 16 via Sonic Unyon. Pre-save the album HERE. The lead single, “Paper Thin Walls,” debuts today and may be streamed/shared HERE. Alongside the single, Lightfoot is debuting a lyric video for the song, directed by Mat Dunlap and featuring performance footage from the tail end of the marathon New Mistakes tour; watch/share the video HERE.

“I wrote this song about overhearing someone you love sharing some harsh words,” says Lightfoot about “Paper Thin Walls.” “I’ve tried to modulate my reactions to things like that, strived to be calmer in my interactions even when I feel strongly. ‘Paper Thin Walls’ is about having your heart run over by someone who never really comes through.”

Recorded in Memphis at the legendary Royal Studios, Consider the Speed sees Lightfoot backed by a trio of session heavyweights—drummer Steve Potts (Al Green, Ann Peebles, Otis Clay, Mavis Staples, Buddy Guy, Isaac Hayes), bassist Davy Smith (Kris Kristofferson, Al Green, Rufus Thomas, Wilson Pickett, BB King, John Mayall) and keyboardist Lester Snell (Isaac Hayes, Al Green, Albert King, Mavis Staples, Steve Earle, Keith Richards). The album was produced by Jay Newland (Etta James, Norah Jones, Esperanza Spalding, Buddy Guy) and engineered by Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell (Mark Ronson, John Mayer, North Mississippi Allstars, Ty Segall), with additional recording at Toronto’s Revolution Studios.

Consider the Speed is the result of Lightfoot finding new roots on the road, more at home in her own skin than ever before. The artist’s relentless drive as a touring performer has earned her the distinction of becoming the first female recipient of the Canadian Independent Music Association’s Road Gold distinction, in recognition of having sold more than 25,000 tickets in Canadian markets in a single calendar year. And in addition to millions of miles logged while touring the globe, including marquee tour dates supporting legendary acts like Willie Nelson, Bruce Cockburn and Blue Rodeo, Lightfoot also found time to conceive, curate and produce “The Longest Road Show,” a groundbreaking touring revue.

Consider the Speed follows Lightfoot’s 2017 album New Mistakes, which was long-listed for the Polaris Music Prize and nominated for a JUNO Award for Best Adult Alternative Album, with its lead single “Paradise” also earning a production nomination as well as a SOCAN #1 Song Award.

1. Called Out Your Name
2. It’s Over Now
3. Empty House4. Love You So
5. Consider the Speed
6. Lost You Forever
7. Midnight Choir
8. Ramblin’ Rose
9. Paper Thin Walls
10. One High Note
11. Two Wild Horses

TERRA LIGHTFOOT ONLINE Website | Linktree | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *