I Musici de Montréal is back with an audience!


I Musici and its new maestro Jean-François Rivest

With audience at the Pierre-Mercure hall

Thursday, May 13 at 2 PM

Free webcast from May 20 to 30

The I Musici de Montréal Chamber Orchestra has been waiting for this moment for a long time: public will physically be back for our next concert on Thursday, May 13! Furthermore, the joy will double up as the musicians will work for the first time under the direction of their new conductor Jean-François Rivest.

Jean-François Rivest is a known and appreciated figure in the classical Quebecois milieu. Trained at the Montreal Conservatory of Music and at the Juilliard School in New York, he was conductor in residence at the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, artistic director of the Orchestre symphonique de Laval and the Thirteen strings Ensemble of Ottawa, then artistic director from the Orford Arts Center. Since 1992, he has been teaching orchestral conducting at Université de Montréal, providing various advanced interpretation classes and conducting the university’s orchestra he founded himself (the OUM).

This first gathering between I Musici and its new conductor, Jean-François Rivest, offers you a unique experience, a true healing journey. First, Julie Triquet, our solo violin, with the help of Fratres and its soaring and meditative aura, will know how to stop the passing of time. The powerful Chostakovich’s Quartet, with its autobiographical dimension and its dedication to the victims of the Holocaust, will move you to the depths of your being. This music brings empathy, and above all, humanity. Next will come Mozart’s sublime Quartet in D minor, like a balm, a breath of fresh air, beauty and tenderness. No other composer can allow us to aspire to a so deep rebirth!

“We are all very happy to return in a hall and meet our audience in person after more than a year. This concert will be a true celebration of optimism with our new maestro Jean-François. » Marisol de Santis, General Manager.


Pärt, Arvo (1977)

Fratres for violin, string orchestra and percussion

Julie Triquet, violin

Chostakovitch, Dimitri (1960)                 

Chamber symphony op. 110a

  • Largo
  • Allegro molto
  • Allegretto
  • Largo
  • Largo

Mozart, W.A. (1783)

Quartet in D minor, K. 421
Adapted for string orchestra by : Jean-François Rivest

  • Allegro moderato
  • Andante
  • Menuetto : Allegretto
  • Allegretto ma non troppo

Box office

Thursday, May 13, 2 PM

Tickets on sale on I Musici de Montréal.

The concert will also be available as a webcast from May 20 to 30 with a voluntary contribution.