With youth and hope

With audience at Pierre-Mercure

Sunday June 6 at 2 PM

Free webcast from June 10 to 20

I Musici de Montréal Chamber Orchestra continues its return to the hall by welcoming the big winners of the I Musici Challenge presented in the summer of 2020. For the occasion, four young musicians will play solo with the orchestra and then five strings will join the ranks of the ensemble to perform Tchaïchovsky’s Serenade!

The team takes great pride in showcasing these formidable talents that will shape the next generation of musicians. The four winning soloists at the CEGEP level will have the chance to perform Telemann (Sofia Morao, viola), Bach (Nikki Arsenault, transverse flute), Haydn (Thomas Larichelière-Banken, cello), Piazzola and Rimski-Korsakov (Daniel Benedetti, accordion).

Also, the five winning soloists of the Secondary level (Levon Markosyan on cello and Chloé Toutant, Jianyue Zhang, Yiding Guo & Nicolas Vasilakopoulos-Kostopoulos on violin) will join the orchestra to conclude the concert with Tchaïchovsky’s Serenade, one of the most performed works in the history of the ensemble. Collegial students Sofia Morao and Thomas Larichelière-Banken will also be there.

Learn more about the young musicians

Cégep level winners : 

Secondary school level winners : 

This concert was made possible thanks to the exceptional contribution of our donor and president of the board, Mrs. Louise Vaillancourt.

Program :

W.A. Mozart,  Adagio and fugue in C minor for stringsKV 546 (composed in 1788)

                          Adaptation for string orchestra                                                            

G.P. TelemannConcerto for viola in G major (composed between 1716-1721)

Sofia Morao, viola

  • Largo
  • Allegro
  • Andante
  • Presto

C.P.E BachConcerto in D minor for flute Wq. 22 (composed in 1747)

Nikki Arsenault, flute

  • Allegro

J. Haydn, Concerto in C major for cello Hob. VIIb :1 (composed in 1761)

Thomas Larichelière-Banken, cello

  • Moderato

A. PiazzollaPrimavera Porteña (composed between 1965-1970)

           Daniel Benedetti, accordion

N.A. Rimski-Korsakov, The flight of the bumblebee (composed in 1899)

           Daniel Benedetti, accordion

P.I. Tchaïkovski, Serenade for strings in C major (composed in 1880)

With the 7 winning strings, level secondary and CEGEP

Violins :               Jianyue Zhang, Nicholas Vasilakopoulos-Kostopoulos, Yiding Guo, Chloé Toutant,

Alto :                   Sofia Morao

Cellos :                Thomas Larichelière-Banken, Levon Markosyan

  • Pezzo in forma di sonatina 
  • Valse 
  • Elégie 
  • Finale

Box office

Sunday, June 6, 2 PM

Tickets on sale on I Musici de Montréal.

The concert will also be available as a webcast from June 10 to 20 with a voluntary contribution.