I’m Waiting For The Man,” reimagined by Matt Berninger for I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico, is out today; stream HERE and watch Berninger’s performance of the song HERE. The record, executive produced by Lou Reed’s dear friend and producer Hal Willner who passed away last year, is due September 24 via Verve Records, the Velvet Underground’s original label home; pre-order/pre-save HERE.

I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico features contributions from Michael Stipe, Matt BerningerSharon Van Etten with Angel OlsenAndrew BirdLuciusKurt Vile & The ViolatorsSt. Vincent & Thomas BartlettThurston Moore, Bobby GillespieKing Princess, Courtney Barnett, Fontaines D.C., and Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney. It’s a track-by-track tribute to the original debut album. 

The record’s lead single, a version of “Run Run Run” by Kurt Vile & The Violators, is out now; listen and watch the video HERE. Limited autographed items including vinyl and vinyl test pressings signed by Kurt Vile and other featured artists will be available HERE.

The release of I’ll Be Your Mirror marks the kickoff of a robust campaign of Velvet Underground activity in 2021. The tribute album was conceived in 2017 at the same time as Todd Haynes signed on to direct The Velvet Underground, the highly anticipated Apple Original Film that just premiered at the 2021 Cannes Film Festival to rave reviews and marks Haynes’ first foray into the documentary space. Apple Original Films and Polygram Entertainment present The Velvet Underground, in association with Federal Films, a Motto Films and Killer Films production. The Velvet Underground will make its debut in theaters and globally on Apple TV+ on October 15, alongside a soundtrack curated by Randall Poster and Todd Haynes via Republic/UMe.

Founded in 1956 by impresario Norman Granz in order to create a fair and just label home for Ella Fitzgerald, Verve Records has become home to some of the most pioneering acts in music, including Ella, Billie Holiday, Louis Armstrong, Nina Simone, The Velvet Underground, Frank Zappa, Dizzy Gillespie, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Oscar Peterson, Sarah Vaughn, and more. Today, the label continues this rich legacy with artists such as Jon Batiste, Cynthia Erivo, Bettye LaVette, and more.

To celebrate the release, Verve Records will donate to Amnesty International USA, a global grassroots organization of millions dedicated to demanding human rights for all people. Velvet Underground founder Lou Reed was an active support of Amnesty International USA.

’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico

1. Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe (3:50)

2. I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger (3:44)

3. Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten (w/ Angel Olsen on backing vocals) (4:43)

4. Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird & Lucius (6:55)

5. Run Run Run – Kurt Vile & The Violators (6:59)

6. All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett (4:52)

7. Heroin – Thurston Moore feat. Bobby Gillespie (7:24)

8. There She Goes Again – King Princess (3:29)

9. I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett (2:27)

10. The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C. (3:12)

11. European Son – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney (7:45)