The OCM opens its season with pianist Sara Davis Buechner



The Orchestre classique de Montréal (OCM), now back in residence at Salle Pierre‑Mercure, is proud to open its 82nd season with renowned transgender Canadian pianist Sara Davis Buechner on November 9, 2021, at 7:30 p.m. Presented by TD Bank Group, the concert will also be accessible via a live webcast, available for replay until November 23.

Buechner, who has been hailed as“a formidable soloist, bringing depth, eloquence, and gleeful technical assurance” by The San Francisco Chronicle, will perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto no. 3in an arrangement for string orchestra by Nurhan Arman. The OCM will also perform Barber’s well-known Adagio for Strings and Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 11, op. 95orchestrated by Gustav Mahler.

A proud transgender woman, Sara Davis Buechner is an international soloist who also appears as a speaker and performer at major LGBTQ events. She has also contributed interviews and articles about her experience to numerous media outlets worldwide. To learn more about her fascinating career, please visit

This concert will also serve as a fundraiser for GRIS-Montréal, a non‑profit that has worked for more than 25 years to demystify issues related to sexual orientation and gender identity, primarily in schools. The OCM will also pay tribute to Marie Houzeau, who has served as Executive Director of GRIS-Montréal since 2005.

Following the concert, VIP ticket holders will enjoy a unique opportunity to meet and chat with Sara Davis Buechner and the OCM’s conductor, Boris Brott, during an intimate cocktail reception on the Salle Pierre-Mercure stage.

The entire OCM team is looking forward to reconnecting with its audience live and in person, in strict compliance with government health guidelines.

Buechner, Barber & Beethoven

Tuesday, November 9 at 7:30 p.m., at Salle Pierre‑Mercure

Available for viewing online until November 23

Orchestre classique de Montréal

Sara Davis Buechner, piano

Boris Brott, conductor

In-person tickets: $59–$79

VIP tickets: $500

Webcast tickets: $29

Online at


Adagio for Strings, S. Barber

String Quartet No. 11, op. 95, L. V. Beethoven, orch. G. Mahler

Piano Concerto No. 3, L. V. Beethoven, arr. N. Arman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *