The Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM) presents its competitive sections and jury members

The Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM) is pleased to present the five competitive sections and jury members for its 24th edition.

This year, the jury for the International Feature Competition is comprised of Alyx Ayn Arumpac, Filipino filmmaker, Mathieu Bouchard-Malo, editor of feature-length fictional and documentary films, and Matthew Rankin, filmmaker.

The National Feature Competition and New Visions jury consist of Marta Andreu, director of Walden Creative Residencies, Darya Bassel, programmer (Docudays UA, Ukraine) and producer, and Marie-Pierre Grenier, sound designer and filmmaker.

The jury for the short and medium-length competitions is comprised of Mira Burt-Wintonick, filmmaker and radio producer, Halima Elkhatabi, director of short films and documentary podcasts, as well as Oksana Karpovych, screenwriter, filmmaker and photographer.

Jury members must select this year’s winners from among the films in competition, 11 of which will be screened as world premieres. Following its desire to showcase the works of emerging filmmakers, the RIDM will present 16 first or second feature films in competition.


Grand Prize for International Feature Competition – presented by TV5

Special Jury Prize for International Feature Competition

A Night of Knowing Nothing by Payal Kapadia (France, India)

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces by Shengze Zhu (United States)

Aleph by Iva Radivojevic (United States, Croatia, Qatar)

Brotherhood by Francesco Montagner (Czech Republic, Italy)

Edna by Eryk Rocha (Brazil)

La Colline by Julien Chauzit (France)

Le dernier refuge by Ousmane Zoromé Samassékou (France, Mali, South Africa)

Little Palestine, Diary of a Siege by Abdallah Al-Khatib (Lebanon, France, Qatar)

Looking for Horses by Stefan Pavlovic (Netherlands, Bosnia and Herzegovina, France)

Objetos Rebeldes by Carolina Arias Ortiz (Costa Rica, Colombia)

Taming the Garden by Salomé Jashi (Switzerland, Germany, Georgia)

The Invisible Mountain by Ben Russell (United States)

This Rain Will Never Stop by Alina Gorlova (Ukraine, Germany, Latvia, Qatar)


Grand Prize for National Feature Competition – presented by PRIM

Special Jury Prize for National Feature Competition

Animal macula by Sylvain L’EspĂ©rance (Quebec/Canada)

Stray Ducks by Bruno Chouinard (Quebec/Canada)

Upstairs by Martin Fournier and Pier-Luc Latulippe (Quebec/Canada)

Dropstones by Caitlin Durlak (Canada)

KĂ­mmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy by Elle-MĂĄijĂĄ Tailfeathers (Canada)

One of Ours by Yasmine Mathurin (Canada)

They Sleep Standing by Bogdan Stoica (Quebec/Canada)

zo reken by Emanuel Licha (Quebec/Canada)


New Visions Award – presented by SociĂ©tĂ© civile des auteurs multimĂ©dia (SCAM) and Post-Moderne

Far Beyond the Pasturelands by Maude Plante-Husaruk and Maxime Lacoste-Lebuis (Quebec/Canada)

DƏNE YI’INJETL | The Scattering of Man by Luke Gleeson (Canada)

The End of Wonderland by Laurence Turcotte Fraser (Quebec/Canada)

Under Silence and Earth by Gisela Restrepo (Canada)


Best International Short or Medium-Length Film

Abisal by Alejandro Alonso (France, Cuba)

All of Your Stars are but Dust on my Shoes by Haig Aivazian (Lebanon)

Can a Mountain Recall by Delfina Carlota Vazquez (Argentina, Mexico)

Conversations avec Siro by Dima El-Horr (Lebanon, France)

Écoutez le battement de nos images by Audrey and Maxime Jean-Baptiste (French Guiana, France)

Galb’Echaouf by Abdessamad El montassir (Western Sahara, Morocco)

If You See Her, Say Hello by Hee Young Pyun and Jiajun (Oscar) Zhang (China)

Kal Fatemeh by Mahdi Zamanpour Kiasari (Iran)

The End of Kingsby RĂ©mi Brachet (France)

Minimal Sway While Starting My Way Up by Stéphanie Lagarde (Netherlands)

NAYA by Sebastian Mulder (Netherlands)

Same/Different/Both/Neither by Adriana Barbosa (Brazil, United States)

Some Kind of Intimacy by Toby Bull (United Kingdom, France)

Strict Regime by Nikita Yefimov (Russia)

When Light is Displaced by Zaina Bseiso (Palestine, United States)


Best National Short or Medium-Length Film – presented by TĂ©lĂ©-QuĂ©bec and SLA Location

Babushka by Kristina Wagenbauer (Quebec/Canada, Russia)

ËdhĂ€ DĂ€dhĂ«chĂ€ | Moosehide Slide by Dan Sokolowski (Canada)

Ikebana by Rita Ferrando (Canada)

Love Me by Romane Garant Chartrand (Quebec/Canada)

PoĂšme fantĂŽme by Laurence Olivier (Quebec/Canada)

Reminiscences of 15 musicians in Beirut attempting a re-imagination of the Egyptian classic Ya Garat Al Wadi by Charles-André Coderre (Quebec/Canada)

Under the Sleeping Mountain by Charles Duquet (Quebec/Canada)

The Truss Arch by Sonya Stefan (Quebec/Canada)

Wash Day by Kourtney Jackson (Canada)


The Magnus Isacsson Award is presented with the ARRQ, DOC Québec, Funambules Médias, Cinema Politica, and Main Film. The winning film will be determined by jury members Jocelyne Clarke, Amandine Gay, Nicole GiguÚre, Steve Patry, Amélie Tintin and Svetla Turnin.

The seven Quebec and Canadian films eligible for this award are Dear Jackie by Henri Pardo, Upstairs by Martin Fournier and Pier-Luc Latulippe, KĂ­mmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy by Elle-MĂĄijĂĄ Tailfeathers, One of Ours by Yasmine Mathurin, Under Silence and Earth by Gisela Restrepo, DƏNE YI’INJETL | The Scattering of Man by Luke Gleeson, and zo reken by Emanuel Licha.


The Student Award, presented by the Caisse Desjardins du Plateau Mont-Royal, will be awarded to a film from the National Feature Competition.


The People’s Choice Award, presented by MADE | NOUS, is voted by the RIDM’s audience and can be awarded to any film in its program.


The RIDM’s awards ceremony will be held for the first time in the CinĂ©mathĂšque quĂ©bĂ©coise’s salle Norman-McLaren on Saturday, November 20, starting at 5 p.m. The evening will continue at the CinĂ©ma du MusĂ©e for the world premiere of this edition’s closing film Gabor, by Joanie LafreniĂšre. The screening will start at 8 p.m. and will be followed by a discussion with the filmmaker and Gabor Szilasi.

In another first for the RIDM, the People’s Choice Award will be announced following the end of the festival’s physical screenings on Monday, November 22.

The RIDM’s 24th edition will take place in theatres from November 10 to 21

at the CinémathÚque québécoise, Cinéma du Parc, Cinéma du Musée,

Centre Pierre-PĂ©ladeau, and Cineplex Odeon Quartier Latin

and online from November 14 to 25, 2021

Informations: /


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.