Photo Courtesy of YOASOBI


Fresh off the heels of their first ever English album E-SIDE being released, YOASOBI has released a new album in Japan, THE BOOK 2. The sophomore album includes seven tracks released throughout the year, plus one song which has previously only been performed live. 

YOASOBI was just awarded “Artist of the Year” at MTV’s Video Music Awards Japan.

Listen to E-SIDE HERE, which features “Monster,” “Into The Night,” “RGB,” “Romance” and “Blue.” They spoke with Paper Magazine in their first U.S. interview. Read HERE.

Comprised of composer Ayase and vocalist ikura, the duo creates music from novels—Each of their songs is inspired by the plot of a short story published on the popular creative writing website

One of Japan’s fastest rising J-pop acts, they have topped the BillboardJapan Hot 100 chart, reached #1 on the Billboard Japan Top Artists Chart, accumulated over 2.7 billion streams across releases. The original Japanese version of “Into The Night” —“夜に駆ける (Yoru ni kakeru)”—is ranked #1 on Spotify Japan’s “Most Streamed Songs in Japan in the Last Five Years” category—The breakthrough hit has now surpassed 600 million streams.

Earlier this year YOASOBI released their debut album, THE BOOK. The group released two singles, “怪物 (Kaibutsu)” and “優しい彗星 (Yasashii Suisei),” both of which were chosen to be the opening and closing theme songs, respectively, for the hit TV shows “BEASTARS” and ranked #1 on various music charts. The album debuted at #2 on the ORICON daily ranking chart, while each album track landed in the Top 15 of the Apple Music streaming chart simultaneously.