Photo credit: Justin Broadbent


acclaimed Toronto rock band Metric, release a new song “What Feels Like Eternity” from their forthcoming album, Formentera. Listen HERE and watch the “so 90s” live performance video HERE, that hearkens back to an era when MTV and alternative rock ruled. Read the exclusive premiere via Consequence HERE.

The highly anticipated new LP—their eighth studio album—is set for release on July 8 and is available for pre-order/pre-save HEREFormentera vinyl is available for pre-order in limited edition Natural and Cobalt Blue variants at, and immediately sold out of the Limited Edition Deluxe Signed vinyl upon launch.

“What Feels Like Eternity” is the third song to be released from the new album, the first being “All Comes Crashing” which has quickly become a mainstay in Metric’s catalogue as their fastest record to cross 1 million streams and is garnering support from flagship alternative rock playlists across radio (SiriusXM’s Alt Nation) and DSPs (Spotify’s Rock This, Apple Music’s ALT CTRL, & Amazon Music’s Alternative Hits.)

“Doomscroller” was met with instant praise upon release, and is a unique centrepiece to Metric’s upcoming Formentera album. The track—which sits at over 10 minutes—is a rollercoaster of emotions, taking the listener through a “high speed chase through the wild terrain of modern life.”

The album is named for an idyllic island near Ibiza off the coast of Spain—a place which, for Metric, only existed in a “dream destinations” travel book sitting on the desk of their recording studio. “We had been living in our imaginations for a long time, because we couldn’t physically go anywhere else,” explains guitarist and co-producer Jimmy Shaw. “When you listen to the album from beginning to end, you start with this immediate feeling of tension building, of being stuck in a loop, and then there’s this intense release that happens… you’re swept off your feet into the title track ‘Formentera’ and it’s like you escaped.”

Haines continues, “We came to this realization that it wasn’t even about an actual place anymore, it was about creating an escape for yourself in your mind because you’re powerless over so many things.”

The band will be hitting the road on a North American headline tour, The Doomscroller Tour, set to kick off this August in Victoria, BC with stops in 39-cities. Due to popular demand, the band added a second show in San Francisco at The Fillmore, October 8—Complete list of dates below.

They recently launched a mobile app, giving fans early access to limited edition vinyl, exclusive content, concert tickets and more, including 7” singles for “All Comes Crashing” and “Doomscroller” within the app for fans to purchaseYou can download the app at

Metric has partnered with PLUS1 so that $1 per ticket goes to supporting War Child and their work to empower children and families in communities affected by war throughout the world. Tickets for The Doomscroller Tour are on sale now. View the full list of tour dates and get tickets HERE.


1. Doomscroller
2. All Comes Crashing
3. What Feels Like Eternity
4. Formentera
5. Enemies Of The Ocean
6. I Will Never Settle
7. False Dichotomy
8. Oh Please
9. Paths In The Sky

Metric is a critically-acclaimed Toronto rock band consisting of Emily HainesJames ShawJoshua Winstead and Joules Scott Key