The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music, has unveiled the 10 albums on the 2022 Short List.
One of these albums will win the 2022 Polaris Prize, which is being determined at the Polaris Gala, taking place September 19 at The Carlu in Toronto, Ontario. General admission tickets to the Polaris Gala are currently available via Ticketmaster.
The 2022 Polaris Music Prize Short List is:
Pierre Kwenders – José Louis And The Paradox Of Love
Lisa Leblanc – Chiac Disco
Hubert Lenoir – PICTURA DE IPSE : Musique directe
Kelly McMichael – Waves
Ombiigizi – Sewn Back Together
Ouri – Frame of a Fauna
Shad – TAO
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – Life After
Charlotte Day Wilson – ALPHA

“This year’s 2022 Short List captures the ambition, creativity, and boundless potential of Canadian music from coast to coast. Bravo to our 10 nominees, and a huge thank you to our esteemed jury for offering their time and expertise. For the first time in a few years, I’m thrilled to suggest that if you have the opportunity to see any of the artists on this Short List live, you should. We’re all long overdue,” said Polaris jury foreperson Melissa Vincent.
With the announcement of the 10 nominated albums, CBC Music is kicking off Short List Summer: a sprawling, season-long deep dive into the nominated records and the artists who made them. Short List Summer will be anchored by CBC Music’s THE TEN, a series of one-hour weekly radio specials hosted by A. Harmony, broadcasting each Sunday on CBC Music and CBC Listen at 6:00 p.m. (6:30 NT) starting Sunday, July 17, until Sunday, September 18. Each week, THE TEN will take an in-depth look at one of the 10 nominated albums in the lead up to the 2022 Polaris Prize winner announcement. The first episode of THE TEN will feature Shad, the only artist to have ever made the Polaris Short List on five separate occasions. 

Short List Summer will also include Shortlist Shortcuts, a editorial series beginning Monday, July 18, that highlights one important gateway song from each of the nominated albums, as told by the short-listed artists. This will be accompanied by an artist-led video series that delves into each gateway song, and will be shared on CBC Music’s TikTok and Instagram pages. Follow CBC Music on InstagramTikTokTwitter and Facebook for more Polaris Music Prize content that will explore the Short List albums and the artists behind them.
THE TEN Calendar:
Sunday, July 17 – The Ten: Shad broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, July 24 – The Ten: Kelly McMichael broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, July 31 – The Ten: Ombiigizi broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, August 7 – The Ten: Lisa Leblanc broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, August 14 – The Ten: Snotty Nose Rez Kids broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, August 21 – The Ten: Hubert Lenoir broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, August 28 – The Ten: Ouri broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, September 4 – The Ten: Pierre Kwenders broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, September 11 – The Ten: Charlotte Day Wilson broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen
Sunday, September 18 – The Ten: Destroyer broadcast on CBC Music and CBC Listen

The past winners are Cadence Weapon (2021), Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy/Owen Pallett (2006).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.