Photo Credit: Daniel Nguyen

Forthcoming Album Healing Time Out November 18

via Blue Corn Music

GRAMMY-nominated singer-songwriter Ruthie Foster has shared her triumphant new single “Feels Like Freedom,” from her forthcoming ninth studio album Healing Time, out November 18 via Blue Corn Music. Backed by a soulful choir, the gospel-influenced track soars with Foster’s powerful voice as she celebrates a spiritual breakthrough. Healing Time is available for pre-order.

Listen to “Feels Like Freedom”

Pre-order Healing Time

“I fell hard for the song,” shares Foster when speaking about “Feels Like Freedom,” originally sung by Joanna Jones. “It said everything about what I wanted to do with this album. It exactly captures the feeling of rising up from a place where you felt stuck. A lot has gone on in the last several years, and for some people it felt as if the world was falling apart. This song says to me, ‘No, we got you.’”

“Feels Like Freedom” follows the effervescent “Soul Searching,” which has garnered praise. Foster’s forthcoming record Healing Time finds her pushing her boundaries as a singer and songwriter more than ever before in her 25-year-career – creating a truly live-sounding atmosphere with the help of her band, who sound refreshingly loose and lived-in throughout this 12-song collection.

On Healing Time, Foster enlisted previous collaborators like Gary Nicholson (Buddy Guy, Taj Mahal) and Grace Pettis to pitch in as well as every member of her band. Sonically, her band also played a large role in recreating the timeless sound that she was drawn to after spending time with her vinyl collection. Collaborating with powerhouse producers Mark Howard (Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams) and Dan Barrett, who also worked on Foster’s Joy Comes Back, these new songs coalesced at Adrian Quesada’s (Black Pumas) famed Electric Deluxe studio in Austin, Texas. Along with several members of the Black Pumas, Barrett brought in a collection of Austin’s finest backing musicians like Glenn Fukunaga (The Chicks, Shawn Colvin).

The aptly titled Healing Time is not only a reference to the trials many have faced over the last several years but it’s also a musical balm for Foster’s listeners. It’s safe to say that everyone has been in need of some healing during recent times, and the veteran artist’s latest provides a guide for how to move through the world with equal parts compassion and resolve.

Healing Time Tracklist:

1) Soul Searching

2) Lie Your Way to the Truth

3) What Kind of Fool

4) I Was Called

5) Paradise

6) Don’t Want to Give Up on You

7) Healing Time

8) For You

9) Love Is the Answer

10) Finish Line

11) Feels Like Freedom

12) 4 AM

Follow Ruthie Foster: