Photo Credit: Young

To celebrate ten years of The xx’s Coexist, Young will issue a limited edition, crystal clear vinyl pressing of the record, available to pre-order now. An expanded digital edition will also feature live versions of fan favourites “Angels,” “Chained,” and “Reunion & Sunset.” Find digital and physical here.

With Coexist, The xx cemented its status as a truly global breakout act. On the follow up to their acclaimed, era-defining debut, the trio of Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim and Jamie Smith (a.k.a. Jamie xx) expanded their musical world, especially through Jamie’s growing electronic sound palette.  

Coexist surpassed expectations to become the best-selling vinyl record of 2012. Meanwhile, the band progressed from playing intimate venues to becoming an international must-see live act, curating their own festivals and collaborating with symphony orchestras. A final ambitious run of 25 shows at New York’s legendary Armory rounded off the album campaign, attended by fellow artists (Beyoncé, Jay-Z and Madonna among them) and fans alike. 

As part of their ongoing residency with Apple Music 1, The xx recorded a special Coexist episode of Interludes Radio, inviting fans to share their experiences of the record over the last ten years. Premiered in Matt Wilkinson’s show, fans can now listen back to the episode here:

“That’s the special thing of having records, is that they are a concrete diary, a moment in our friendship,” says the band. “The fact that it’s been ten years, reflecting on that time passing and the music belonging to other people in those ten years—Coexist means something to us, but the connections that people have to those songs now. Fleeting moments of people saying they got married walking down the aisle to ‘Angels,’ it’s very surreal and special to be part of those people’s lives.”


1. Angels

2. Chained

3. Fiction

4. Try

5. Reunion

6. Sunset

7. Missing

8. Tides

9. Unfold

10. Swept Away

11. Our Song

12. Angels (Live)

13. Chained (Live)

14. Reunion & Sunset (Live)